PDA

View Full Version : US Airline pilot

rich49
27th Jan 2002, 16:29
Dear All,. .I am currently living in the UK and I am studying for my A levels, afterwards I hope to go to university and get a degree then apply for a sponsorship and become an airline pilot in the UK.

However, my family is thinking of moving to the USA, this cahnges things a bit. If they did I would probably join them after getting my degree which would make me 22. I have no idea how you would train/become a pilot in the USA. I would not want to join the air force. I have looked into the situation already to find that there are no sponsorships in the USA (at least I couldn't find any)so how would I do it? How would I get the finance to fund my own training? Were would I go etc.. .Any help would be appreciated.. .Thanks

GoneWest
27th Jan 2002, 17:05
Forgive me if I've taken your message out of context - and this may come as something of a shock - but you could at least consider GETTING A JOB and EARNING the seat on the flight deck.

rich49
27th Jan 2002, 17:58
No sorry if you misunderstood! That is exactly what I intend to do. I am not looking for a free ride, that is not what I ment, I am already working trying to save some money for university. What I mean is what courses are there, how many hours do need for any airline career, how much do I need to earn. That sort of thing. . .Rich

[ 27 January 2002: Message edited by: rich49 ]</p>

hvassk
28th Jan 2002, 00:31