PDA

View Full Version : More Costs at Shoreham

Poltergeist
11th Oct 2011, 14:21
Hi all, word of warning.

I have been flying at shoreham for several years and always fed the pay and display meters. I was told that when I went away overnight or if i was late back and overan the parking ticket it was ok because i was flying there and they did not have clamps.
I have not been there for a while and got my ticket and overan accidentally.
I came to my car to find it had been clamped. he release fee was £85 plus £5 surcharge for paying with a debit card!
I paid and wrote to the airport saying that on top of flying costs and practicalities I was not happy. I got a reply that it was signed etc etc. nothing about the customer care issues.
I have accepted I had to pay but will not carryout any further flying from there. Goodwood and Redhill are convenient for me also and appear to be more aviation orientated and cheaper

PG

140KIAS
11th Oct 2011, 16:11
In Scotland clamping is viewed as extortion and has been outlawed. Time England caught up.

Poltergeist
11th Oct 2011, 16:25
I have since found that several others have been caught by this. One concern being voiced but ignored is if you fly away and the weather deteriorates, will the pressure of £90 fine drive some to take off when they should stay on the ground?

Shoreham charges £20 landing fees, I have already found my alternative and with the Flying I have cancelled, even if the airport got the full amount from the release fee, they are still in deficit. The organisation hiring the aircraft has lost considerably more.

I asked what happens when you take a plane away for a few days and there is at present no system to pay for more than one day so you will get clamped. A great understanding of aviation in the airport management then.................:ugh:

or maybe, just maybe, this is the Plymouth scenario the owners making business difficut to justify closing it and building on the land??????

LysanderV8