PDA

View Full Version : Turbine Oil

Stationair8
11th Oct 2011, 08:50
Why do turbine engines use synthetic oil instead of mineral oil?

Landroger
11th Oct 2011, 10:31
Why do turbine engines use synthetic oil instead of mineral oil?

Not being an expert, I suspect the answer is; because they can! I was told by a guy in the oil industry that with synthetic oil, the refinery pretty much reduce 'ordinary oil' to its component molecules and then put them all back the way they want them.

That way, the oil will be 'fine tuned' to do exactly what the engine and the operational regime requires.

Other than that, I haven't a clue. :)

Roger.

gulfairs
12th Oct 2011, 01:45
Mineral oil(dead dinosoars) is not able to stand the temeratures required in the bearings near and down wind of the hot section.
Synthetic lubrication is ok up to what ever a gas turbine can produce without serious break down or any breakdown.

Brian Abraham
12th Oct 2011, 02:55
Advantages of synthetic oil

1.Measurably better low- and high-temperature viscosity performance at service temperature extremes
2. Better chemical & shear stability
3. Decreased evaporative loss
4. Resistance to oxidation, thermal breakdown, and oil sludge problems
5. Extended drain intervals with the environmental benefit of less oil waste.
6. Improved fuel economy in certain engine configurations.
7. Better lubrication during extreme cold weather starts
8. Longer engine life
9. Superior protection against "ash" and other deposit formation in engine hot spots and reduced chances of damaging oil passageway clogging.

I stand to be corrected, but all aviation synthetic piston oils are a mineral/synthetic mix, rather than straight synthetic as available for motor vehicles. Reason being that synthetics do not hold lead in suspension as well as mineral oil.