PDA

View Full Version : headaches on longhaul daylight flights

747pilot747
8th Oct 2011, 09:19
Hi,

I'm a longhaul pilot and I tend to get headaches that originiate right behind the eyes. I almost always get them on daylight flights and cannot remember ever having one on a night flight.

I wear spectacles to correct a mild case of myopia and astigmatism but I generally take them off during the cruise. I wear sunglasses if it's bright outside. I've been flying longhaul for 5 years now and I think I've always had this problem. Any ideas? I'll mention it to my AME on my next visit but maybe someone out there has some experience with this.

Thanks.

FlamantRose
9th Oct 2011, 15:10
Hello,

During my childhood, tears would come to my eyes each time it was too bright outside. No problems at night. So I wore dark glasses (1950 thru 1960) during daytime. Then it was discovered that I suffered astigmatism. So correct spectacles for the astigmatism but also very dark glasses. And when I say dark I do mean dark, almost black. No more headaches and no more crying in daylight. In the 80's when my eyesight started tumbling down I was issued stectacles with all the adequat corrections and I started diminishing the darkness of the glasses. I now still wear tinted glasses but only with a very faint tint, something like 25% (no where near what I used to wear).
I don't need sunglasses anymore since roughly 15 years.

DX Wombat
9th Oct 2011, 15:40
Are you using wrap-around sunglasses? These stop harmful rays getting in through the side of the eyeball and should be worn both inside the aircraft and outside. Is the flightdeck warmer during daylight flights or do you feel warmer from the direct action of the sun? If so, you may be mildly dehydrated so try increasing your fluid intake. You have already said that you will mention it to your AME and that is the most sensible idea. An eye test wouldn't go amiss either.

Desert185
9th Oct 2011, 15:53