PDA

View Full Version : A great day out in Europe

RedsBluesGreens
20th Sep 2011, 20:52
Hi guys,

I'm a pilot based at Southend. I'm looking for a nice trip abroad, not too far (1-2hrs each way), but somewhere to spend the whole day in a nice European city. Any ideas?

I've done most of northern France, so I thought about Belgium? Brugge is meant to be nice but it doesn't seem to have an airfield. I haven't done Deauville either, not sure what's there.

I'm also happy to get the train from the airfield too.

Not sure if this is really the right place as I'm more concerned with the quality of the town than the airfield, but if any of you have any good ideas I'd love to hear from you!

Thanks.

mrmum
20th Sep 2011, 21:39
I really like Belgium, probably more than France. Been to Oostende several times over the years the airport is straightforward and easy, good service and moderately priced. I've generally done an overnight trip, bit of a hike from up here, stopped at Southend for fuel & customs on the way out last time as it happens. Always stayed in the town itself, which is quite nice in my opinion, however Brugge seems to be about 15 miles away from the airport, which you may think is doable for a daytrip.

mrmum
20th Sep 2011, 21:55
There is also here Aeroclub Brugge > Home (http://www.aeroclub-brugge.be/) but it's as far to the SE of Brugge as Ostend is to the NW, so possibly not worth the extra distance. Don't know if they can do arrivals from UK either, or English R/T, guess you could check it out.

aluminium persuader
20th Sep 2011, 22:15
ELLX Luxembourg? A little bit further but worth the trip!

RedsBluesGreens
20th Sep 2011, 22:19
Thanks for your input. I think that airfield may be a little far out for Brugge, but thanks for spotting it!

What about Deauville? Is the town there nice? Of course there's always the channel islands...

RedsBluesGreens
20th Sep 2011, 22:38