PDA

View Full Version : Using JAA PPL(A) in Canada

Uniform267
19th Sep 2011, 15:29
Hi all,

I am moving to British Columbia for 1 year starting in November. Being a relatively new pilot I am obviously extremely keen to put my license to good use - I don't want to leave it on a shelf in the UK for 12 months.

So my question is - what do I need to do to be able to use the JAA License whilst i'm abroad?

Anyone got any first hand experience of flying in Canada, or even better in the Vancouver area? I understand flying abroad on a relatively new license will come with its challenges so any advice anyone can give me on here is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
267:ok:

Genghis the Engineer
19th Sep 2011, 16:38
I don't know the Vancouver area, but this year have flown in Canada on a JAA licence.

You need to arrange to visit a local Transport Canada office, where they'll ask you to fill out a few forms, pay $45, let them photocopy your medical, passport and licence, and magically they issued me with a 1-year licence validation. The process took a little over half an hour.

Flying in Canada is a little different to the UK, but not that much really. Allow for 1-2 hours briefing on local practices, RT and geography, and the usual rental checkout, and you should be fine.

Great scenery, friendly people, and fairly inexpensive flying. You'll have fun.

G

Shunter
19th Sep 2011, 19:45
You want to google FLVC (foreign license verification certificate). It basically gives you all the rights in Canada that your UK license gives you in the UK. According to the guy who did mine in Vancouver that covers all ratings (including the IMC interestingly enough, despite it being a sub-ICAO instrument rating).

Uniform267
20th Sep 2011, 10:19
Thanks for the replies - very useful. Wasn't very sure where to look online. Located a local office in Vancouver so will make sure to pop in and get the FLVC when im there - many thanks!

Whopity
20th Sep 2011, 11:16