PDA

View Full Version : JAA/FAA Logbook

capt123
28th Aug 2011, 11:45
Hello everybody!

I would verh much like yo hear your opinion regarding flight time records (logbooks). 

I have just obtained my FAA licence -  in addition to my JAA licence. I intend to use my FAA licence only for private flying in US (as opposed to my airline job here in Europe). That means I would log approximately 10 or 20 hours a year with my FAA licence and a much larger sum with my JAA licence. 

My question is whether I should keep separate logbook for "FAA-flying" and one for "JAA-flying" or am I allowed to keep my existing logbook for all my flights. I know that nobody here in Europe normally cares (I mean the CAA people) what you have in your logbook but I have no experience with the FAA. Do they require that you keep your logbook in FAA format or would they be happy with my existing JAA-format logbook as well?

Thank you very much for your opinions/comments/etc. 

Regards,

AC :cool:

WILCO.XMG
28th Aug 2011, 11:51
Im no expert but i'd imagine one is for N Reg FAA Aircraft and the other for all EASA/JAA Aircraft.

But i'm no expert.

AdamFrisch
28th Aug 2011, 12:06
Anything goes. You can log your hours on a napkin if you want - there are no requirements from the FAA as far as I know. I log both my JAA and FAA in the same book just to make it easier for myself. There are subtle differences in PIC/SIC time and XCountry, but nothing one can't easily work into the same book.

Genghis the Engineer
28th Aug 2011, 14:03
I agree with Adam. I do much as you've described and a single logbook with two licenses has never given me a problem.

G

mad_jock
28th Aug 2011, 14:56
I personally would keep them seperate.

FAA instructors in my limited experence have a nasty habit of writing all over the bloody thing. It is apparently there right!!

And apart from that if your main log book goes missing in tranist your a bit stumped.