PDA

View Full Version : Corporate Aviation (Flight Crew) In Australia.......How to?

Biggles266
22nd Aug 2011, 04:58
I'm hoping someone can shed some light on how to get into the Corporate Aviation World.
I'm a Commercial Pilot currently completing my MECIR and ATPL(subjects) at YMEN, every day these Gulfstreams, Global Express, Falcons and Hawkers are punching holes in clouds.
Every time i hear one spooling up i find myself running to the window to watch it take off, using what seemingly looks like less runway than the 172 and PA.44 i fly use.
How does one get into this world as a Pilot? From what i have seen and understandably i might add, they all ask for thousands of Hrs and current on type.

Is it a case of just gaining Hrs elsewhere and then paying for an endorsement?
Or just getting in the door and 'kicking ****' for months, even years and hoping that by showing your commitment they will offer you a company paid endorsement?

morno
22nd Aug 2011, 05:16
Is it a case of just gaining Hrs elsewhere

Yes and lot's of them.

and then paying for an endorsement?

No. If someone wants you to fly their jet around, they should and will pay for your endorsement.

There are a few jobs around where you can get an F/O spot with very few hours, but in 99% of cases you'll be the F/O forever. If however, you get into corporate with several thousand hours broken down into lot's of hours in different area's (night, turbine, command, multi engine) then you'll have a much better chance of progressing further than that co-pilot seat into a wider range of aircraft.

Think of it like this. In that part of the industry, you need to make yourself attractive with your extensive experience so that those who want the best, will want you. They can have whoever they want because it's a highly sought after and small part of the industry, so you're better off giving yourself the absolute best chance and get the experience first.