PDA

View Full Version : maternity programs for female pilots @ EK or QR

ANSALONI
2nd Aug 2011, 07:07
Hi,
I am a female pilot looking at a future with EK or QR. Any info on maternity programs since I am still young and would love to have kids in the future????

Jetaim
2nd Aug 2011, 16:24
My dear not such a thing in Middle Age.
Stay far away.

andorra2004
2nd Aug 2011, 18:14
It depends on the companies, but you can find in some Middle East airlines that your contract is finished if you are pregnant.

40&80
2nd Aug 2011, 20:47
Could be a good career move if it is the right man.

SassyPilotsWife
3rd Aug 2011, 05:16
Are they hiring female crew members ? Do they have any on board already?

Best of luck with that :)

If you do get on, and decide to get pregnant, make sure you're legally married ! The skies won't be so friendly for ya if you aren't and you deliver here.

saywhat
3rd Aug 2011, 12:00
A quote from the Employee manual.

"Maternity Leave (not applicable to Flight Crew and Cabin Crew)"

Perhaps they have a separate policy for flight crew and cabin crew, as there are cabin crew that get pregnant, have their children and return to work. I cannot find it though.

There are some woman pilots working at EK, but they are few and far between.

Hope this helps

Chow

Wizofoz
3rd Aug 2011, 12:19
EK employed it's first female pilot in 2006- She recently competed her Command upgrade on the 777. There is at least one other Lady Captain now, an I think it may be two.

I know of at least two Ladies who are here flying and are single Mothers.

No idea of total numbers, but my guess would be less than 100 out of the 2700 currently employed.

I don't think Maternity leave for Pilots has even been considered, but I guess they'll deal with it when it happens. The Cabin Crew get (I think) 6 weeks UNPAID Maternity leave, and I imagine Pilots would be similar.