PDA

View Full Version : Loop in a B747 :-)

paulo
10th Jul 2001, 16:48
OK, blame a colleague of mine for this one...

...late night bar conversation leads to a debate; Is it possible to complete a loop in a 747. The debate is unresolved, and the participants soon after fly the seperate ways, both on 747s. Independently they do cockpit visits, and ask the question.

One crew say no, the other say "theoretically" although the stress point would be the engine mounts so you might lose a few in the process. They also say that "it's been done once" but don't say whether any structural damage occurred.

B747 Loop - possible? been done?
We have to know... :-)

Herod
10th Jul 2001, 17:55
I'm no expert, but I would say no. Unless it is going to be a very big loop, and you are going to use flap over the top as the speed decays, you will need something like 4g to kick off with. Barrel Roll, almost certainly, although I don't know of one. Come on experts, and if there is film of it then it must be required viewing.

stagger
10th Jul 2001, 18:08
Well there was Tex Johnston's famous 707 barrel roll...

http://www2.prestel.co.uk/crawford/philip/fullsize/707inverted.jpg

lamer
10th Jul 2001, 18:35
http://www.pfdteam.com/log18.htm

and now for something completely different:

http://www.aviationpics.de/t/rollit.gif

Tinstaafl
10th Jul 2001, 23:19
The light aerobatic aircraft I've flown used about 3g to get around a loop. Even 2.5g if you didn't care about it being very round.

It's a +3g limit on transport category from memory so it might well be possible with a slight dive & full thrust to build up enough energy to get around the loop.

I wouldn't like to try it though.

Lucifer
10th Jul 2001, 23:25
You need a 4g pullup for a loop: the 747 g limit is 2.5g. So no.

Tinstaafl
11th Jul 2001, 04:33
It certainly wasn't 4g for a loop when I was taught aeros.