PDA

View Full Version : new in dubai, need advice on where to buy a car...

EY763ER
28th Jul 2011, 06:56
Hello!

Im new in dubai and wanted some advice on buying a car.
Was preferably looking for a second hand car rather than a brand new one.

Any advice on where to get some good deals?

cheers!

fliion
28th Jul 2011, 07:04

Pull_up
28th Jul 2011, 07:10
Just to extend a bit on that question.
Which car retailer in dxb gives discount to EK pilots please?

Gulfstreamaviator
28th Jul 2011, 07:10
Just started to become popular.

Not certain of www address but they should be searchable.

There is a big on in RAK, and I think I saw an advert for DXB too.

I am thinking about this route also.

glf

777boyindubai
28th Jul 2011, 13:44
I have heard that rhe Ford dealer is offering 15% off certain models to EK staff. Someone I know bought an Explorer.

Gulfstreamaviator
28th Jul 2011, 13:53
Does EK count as gov.

glf

ewok69
28th Jul 2011, 15:25
Best place is Souk or dubizzle.Most cars on Dubizzle are owner drivers,lots of them in a hurry to sell,for whatever reasons.
Haggle like crazy if you buying private,dont buy from a dealer,they buy private then up the price by at least 20%.
Make sure you buy from outside the sellers house,not in a carpark.Ask to see some ID,passport if necessary.lots of dodgy people will say they are the owner so check the names match,should be on the insurance cert also.
check the car reg on Dubai Police website,in the past I actually asked in the police station,this is not really necessary though,I'm a bit ocd with paperwork.
Have the car checked 100% in a garage,soooo many cars in Dubai have major problems due to the heat,lack of servicing and the sand/dust.
AAA and X-service Centre on Sheikh Zayed rd are excellent.they will do service checks for a few hundred dizzers.:D

FJCruiser
30th Jul 2011, 17:55
There are also ad boards in supermarkets like Spinneys. Park & Shop in Safa has a big ad board too.Well worth checking.

PB4
31st Jul 2011, 06:57