PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about it... seriously?

Clara H
19th Jul 2011, 19:59
I am seventeen and a little bit. I have done one half of my A levels. And only then do I decide I want to be a pilot?

Being an achedemic sort of person, it has been generally assumed that I will go to university like my parents... and my sister. I am studying maths, physics and geography. I love to write, I love to sing, and I love planes.
(sounds funny, that)

My problem is this: I don't know if I'm entirely serious about it.
Well, no, I am serious now. I wasn't three months ago, when I started to consider various options. I did a little bit of research (as you do), and decided it was too much of a risk. Now I cannot let go of the idea.

I know next to nothing about the job itself, but the mechanics of flight fascinates me.

And one more thing: I haven't told anyone. I need to ask for advice, but that doesn't come easy.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

captainsuperstorm
19th Jul 2011, 20:04
everybody like planes...
you will sing at your bank manager when you will be bankrupt.

who's next?:ugh:

bingofuel
19th Jul 2011, 20:07
Apply for a University that is affiliated to a University Air Squadron, then apply to join. Best of both worlds.

170to5
19th Jul 2011, 20:18
Absolutely agree! At 17 you won't really know what you want to do with your life, I certainly didn't and flying would be a VERY expensive mistake if you decided you didn't want to do it after all!

Add to that the life experience of going to Uni (and especially the experiences you'll have in one of the military units, which is about all I did at uni - spent almost as much time at mine as I spent on my course!), and it is a very sad thing to miss out on.