PDA

View Full Version : Whats required for "Normal" catergory design under FAR 23?

Basefor02
19th Jul 2011, 03:34
Please forgive my ignorance, but I am a pilot from Australia and I am having some troubles with the national regulator (CASA) with regards to the operations our aircraft is allowed to perform. We own a Pipistel Virus SW (ICAO code PIVI) and we have been told by CASA that we cannot use the aircraft for photography work because it has not been designed to, quote "Normal Category Type Design (FAR 23)".

I would now like to see where the aircraft doesn't meet the normal category type design specifications in order to work out whether it is reasonable for CASA to put such a broad ban on us. Can anybody tell me, or ideally provide me with, the specifications that have to be meet to fit into the normal catergory? Are they with regard to performance, maintenance, manufacturing standards or a combination?

Thanks in advance.

john_tullamarine
19th Jul 2011, 04:14
I'm not familiar with your machine but presume it is an amateur built or ultralight ?

CASA's use of "FAR 23" in this case, I suspect, doesn't mean that the aircraft has to be designed with consideration of FAR 23 but that it has to be certificated to that Standard to be used for unrestricted operations.

If you need I can do a little research for you or else find an appropriate current name to contact in the Authority to discuss.

Basefor02
19th Jul 2011, 04:31
It does fall into the Ultra light category simply because it is very light weight, although it has for more in common with your light GA aircraft than the typical ultralight. It is a factory built plane from Slovenia and is VH registered, currently under a special category airworthiness certificate.