PDA

View Full Version : First solo and messed it up..

6th Gear
5th Jul 2011, 11:36
Well I feel pretty foolish to be honest. And gutted with myself..
I began to learn to fly choppers 9 months ago for two reasons..
Firstly because flying terrified me even commercially, (too many episodes of black box etc) so I reckoned I'd take the bull by the horns. Secondly I adore Jet Rangers and want to own and fly one.

It took six hours in an R44 before I could even hold the cyclic gently, the first two hours I was sweating that much I couldnt even grip it. But slowly I began to drive to the airfield twice a week thinking I wasnt actually going to die that day. According to my Instructor I'm a model student - meticulous and cautious.
So I got to the solo stage a couple of days ago having hovered on my own for a while, made the call, started to climb then bang! Panic gripped me with a bit of air under me and no one in the left seat so it was all could do to turn round and come back. ,
Its knocked me a lot although if it takes me 200 flamin hours I'll do it. But would appreciate some advice from you guys who remember their own solo's and if they experienced anything similar when training etc..
Thanks! Simon

Mongrel Dog
5th Jul 2011, 12:42
So what you're saying is you found yourself in an uncomfortable situation, so you returned and made a safe landing.
Looks very much to me like sound decision making and fine airmanship. Dare I say a rare attribute among many aviators these days

I would suggest you have the important bits well in hand.

Don't worry about the nerves. I'm sure they'll go in time. Just enjoy the flying knowing that you're making progress.

industry insider
5th Jul 2011, 12:43
Stick with it my friend. Maybe try to have a little more continuity of lessons of you can. Try to have 2 lessons 1 day and 1 dual the next day followed by your solo.