PDA

View Full Version : Lightning strike. What happens?

VMC-on-top
21st Jun 2011, 12:29
If you are unfortunate enough (or stupid enough) to be caught in severe weather and are struck by lightning, what happens? Presumably you avionics / radio all fry? Do you stand a risk of death if touching the metal part on the internal side of the door? Would the aircraft still fly?

Not that I plan to test it of course, just out of interest!

PompeyPaul
21st Jun 2011, 12:43
I'm not an expert, but I did my degree in electronics. I believe the aircraft would act as a Faraday cage because it isn't earthed. That being the case no current would flow as you would have equal potential around the aircraft. Even if you touched the metal part of the aircraft the "current" would route around the metal airframe and down to earth. That is where the greatest resistance would be, where the voltage was dropped and where the power would be dissipated, hence you'd see the white hot heating of the air molecules and the classic "lightning" strike.

That said, as my physics A level teacher told me "really, nobody totally understands lightning yet, we've got some ideas but it's not all completely known" so I am more than ready to be corrected.

tom775257
21st Jun 2011, 12:43
http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/33/AIL0014.PDF

The above link contains some background information. I seem to remember reading a report about a glider that was destroyed by a strike, however the glider was non-conductive. I know a chap who was hit in a 172 I think which destroyed the wing tip but nothing else. Larger aircraft seem to show little damage after a strike, perhaps the odd rivet burnt or an aerial or cover blown off, often I fly aircraft with small amounts of lightning damage awaiting rectification.

Whopity
21st Jun 2011, 13:20
A big bang and a flash, a temperature change, a strange smell and some kit may not work and crew members wondering what the hell was that.

IO540
21st Jun 2011, 14:01