PDA

View Full Version : Why is Flight Equipment so Expensive?!

KieranBal
6th Jun 2011, 22:22
I'm currently a PPL student with about 35 hours and just about to do my QXC. For the past month or so, I've been having to borrow the club's computer/protractor/ruler etc. when planning a flight. This can not only get embarrassing, but very annoying when I know I can get all of my planning done at home before I leave for a flight, but when I search online for all the planning equipment I need, I can't understand the prices they charge!

£8 for a ruler? Come on! It's just a ruler with different markings on it! You can go into WHSmiths and buy a normal ruler for less than 50p, so why should one with nautical miles on it be so much different?! The same goes for CRP-1 computers, which when new are about £50. Yes, they are clever and indispensable, but really? It just seems that any product that can fit 'aviation' into the name seems able to charge 5x what should be charged! :mad:

KieranBal

Genghis the Engineer
6th Jun 2011, 22:39
Small volume production, and a perceived cash-rich market.

Try eBay, try compromising where you can. I use a cheap fabric bag for my flight bag, a £6 stopwatch from Argos, keep my charts in a holder from Staples instead of something similar for many times the price from Transair...

A cardboard ASA whizz-wheel (or second hand RAF one) will work as well as a much more expensive Pooleys model, and a 50p WH Smiths Protractor will measure angles just as well too. Nothing to stop you marking a 1:500,000 scale on a bit of perspex...

You can save a lot of money if you need to.

G

trex600
6th Jun 2011, 23:54
Trust someone with the name Airpolice to have a totally different view from what most other human beings would call an absolute rip off.

If the flying itself had a similar markup as the flight equipment it would cost over £1000 per hour to fly a tomahawk so i don't think it's such a bad question.