PDA

View Full Version : R/T to Humberside from Sherburn

Lagentium
4th Jun 2011, 19:11
Little help needed please!
Im a student flying from Sherburn, and made my first flight to Humberside the other day with my instructor, all went well and I really enjoyed it, the next thing im doing is the same route but solo.
The only thing im worried about when Im solo is the radio calls, Im fine with Fenton Approach and leaving the circuit, the same vice versa, its just getting the initial call into Humberside, what follows and how its structured whilst inbound and departing. Id just like some peoples advice thats all, any advice would be great and greatfully received, many thanks

ralphmalph
4th Jun 2011, 19:20
Military student pilots are taught to use the following acronym:

A: Aircraft
P: POB
H: Heading & Height
L: Location
I: IFF Code
T: Type of service

This is not absolutley correct in sequence, I do think that the correct form is to open the R/T with the type of service required.

If in doubt, write it on your knee board!

Regards

Ralph

The Dead Side
4th Jun 2011, 19:30
If I were flying the same route as you, I find out the current information from Humberside ATIS before calling them. I wouldn't ask for a specific service when approaching the ATZ, but I would request joining instructions;

"Humberside Radar, G-XXXX, overhead [VRP], request joining instructions."

I've never flown into Humberside, but you're likely to receive instructions to join the circuit either downwind or base etc for the active runway.

Hope this helps.
DS

BackPacker
4th Jun 2011, 19:30
I think that as long as you prefix your callsign with "student" on the initial call, all your errors will be forgiven...:ok:

If you do want to get things perfect though - have you checked the CAA Radiotelephony Manual (CAP413)?

24Carrot
4th Jun 2011, 20:34
I think that as long as you prefix your callsign with "student" on the initial call, all your errors will be forgiven...

Excellent advice.