PDA

View Full Version : How to polish up rusty RT?

Phil73805
28th Apr 2011, 12:18
Like the subject line says, I'd like to polish up my RT, how do I go about it?

I've been flying on and off for around 6 years now (after getting my license), and am aware that there have been some changes to RT in that time. I know my way comfortably around Information service RT but have little confidence on anything 'bigger'.

Books, CD's, Online?

Thanks

BackPacker
28th Apr 2011, 12:19
Google for "live ATC" and spend a few hours listening to your favourite airfield. Preferably one which has a mix of IFR and VFR traffic.

Phil73805
28th Apr 2011, 12:24
That only seems to cover American airfields?

(Edit: or rather no UK airfields for some reason)

BackPacker
28th Apr 2011, 12:41
I'm not sure but I think UK law specifically forbids this.

If you can't find anything UK, I can recommend EHRD (Rotterdam), particularly on a good weekend.

chevvron
28th Apr 2011, 13:36
Get an airband radio and listen to a Heathrow frequency, but don't tell anyone else what you hear!!

Conventional Gear
28th Apr 2011, 14:02
I hardly pick anything up on airband receivers unless I'm practically at the airfield, sort of defeats the object, you may as well ask ATC if you can visit for the day :confused:

I've yet really to find a solution to this problem. I wish we could get UK feeds. My RT has taken by far the biggest 'hit' after a long break from flying and wish I could find a sensible solution. There are some Irish feeds available on the net such as Dublin and Shannon.

IF the case is there is a law against the public listening in, I don't see why holders of an FROL shouldn't be able to log into a website? Something for NATS to think about for us? Poor R/T unfortunately leads to poor airmanship and I sure would rather be sat here listening to a selection of good UK feed than ignoring the problem.

BackPacker
28th Apr 2011, 14:09