PDA

View Full Version : Absolute max. power output for PT6-66

GreyWolfCherokee
3rd Mar 2011, 23:53
I am putting together a package for potential investors/sponsors for a world land speed record attempt in a turbine powered motorcycle. I have talked to a few people who seemed to know what they were saying, and I was told that a completely psychotic build w/o afterburning should net me in the neighborhood of 5500-6000 shp. My question is this, is this information correct??

sevenstrokeroll
4th Mar 2011, 00:23
I'm a pilot, not an engine expert...but, I've never heard of an afterburning PT6 or any turboshaft/prop engine

I would contact Pratt and Whiteny of Canada directly for information about it.

I can't imagine a motorcycle with a pt6...but what do I know?

twochai
4th Mar 2011, 01:37
If I remember correctly, I believe the gas generator of the PT-6A-66 has a thermodynamic output capability in ISA conditions of around 1650ESHP. Of course, the gearbox is only rated to 950 SHP and presumably the bang from the gearbox would precede the flames from the gas generator as the turbine blades burned up!

It might indeed be described as an 'afterburner' by that point!

SNS3Guppy
4th Mar 2011, 02:50
Afterburner?

Have you ever seen a PT6?

dixi188
4th Mar 2011, 03:01
I've seen flames from the exhaust during a wet start on a PT6 but no afterburner.

If you want 5-6000HP then you need something like a PW150 from a Dash 8-Q400.

barit1
4th Mar 2011, 03:09
Do you really understand what an afterburner is all about? :rolleyes:

V1... Ooops
4th Mar 2011, 07:07
...max. power output for PT6-66... for a turbine powered motorcycle.

Sir:

I think you may have unintentionally posted the wrong model of aircraft engine.

The PT-6 series of engines are turboprop engines - the power is delivered to a shaft at the front of the engine, and a propeller is then attached to that shaft.