PDA

View Full Version : Managing time critical checklists!

A380 Jockey
20th Jan 2011, 15:33
I recently completed my licence renewal simulator check(very successfully,I might add..).
On one particular exercise I was asked very politely but extremely candidly to 'please expedite the procedure'.
This exercise was an engine fire on one of my engines..
Now I am a trainer myself,but not wanting to take anything away from this 'green' TRI,it got me thinking.
I was always taught thru the entire course of my flying history,AND thru the course of my training history that when you have an emergency that is time critical but not time starved,slow down your pace and buy whatever few milli seconds you are able to,therby giving you the space(AND time) to take sensible decisions. These are,after all, life altering decisions.
On discussion,his thought was that I could do better by 'hurrying up the checklist' of a 550T aircraft. I had actually done 4 items in about 30 seconds which could easily have taken close to 60 had I stuttered or stumbled.
Having seen several,innumeral students and trainees cut wrong engine(s),and fire the wrong fire shot in the wrong engine,pull the wrong generator drive and switch the wrong hydraulic pump,turn the hydraulics off for the fuel pumps etc etc,I have come to establish the golden rule that when you have to rush something,please take your time. Or 'hurry up slowly'. Apparantely,my training hasn't sunk thru enough minds. Or maybe it is incorrect to begin with...
Would appreciate your comments on my chain of thought..
Howsoever correct or otherwise it might be. Many thanks. Cause I am really dissappointed. If for nothing else....in myself.

PJ2
20th Jan 2011, 17:44
A380 Jockey;

I will share a similar experience in hopes of providing perspective on what shouldn't be felt as a "disappointing" comment. I certainly understand the feeling - let me explain why.