PDA

View Full Version : Helicopter charter

PicMas
20th Nov 2010, 21:38
Evening Gents,

I have ventured out of my safety zone, the bizjet forum just south of here, to see if I can find answers to some questions regarding chartering a helicopter.

To make a long story longer...
I am currently researching possibilities for a project scheduled for May or June of 2011. For this I need some information about technical issues and pricing.
I have put my scope on a Bell 206, without really knowing too much about helicopters at all.

I need transportation for 2 persons, possibility to either open or remove door or window for photographing - is this possible? I am a seasoned photographer, but only from fixed wing aircrafts. Using handheld equipment.

What is the REALISTIC time aloft for a Bell 206? a ballpark figure will do.
It will be most convenient (read cheap) to charter from an operator in Northern Scotland, Aberdeen, Inverness due to proximity to my target locations etc. Any recommendations who to talk to?

What is the going hourly rate wet charter for a Bell 206? or similar helicopter.

Am I correct that the Bell 206 is single pilot ie. possible to sit in the right seat to facilitate communication with the pilot?

Should I even consider an R44 when substantial overwaterflying is part of the project?

Your kind help in answering the above is highly appreciated.

Best regards,

PicMas

PicMas
20th Nov 2010, 21:40
...wait... it should have read "sit in the left seat"

EESDL
20th Nov 2010, 22:19
welcome to world of rotary - may I suggest you contact the British Helicopter Association through their website - section on charter.
Charter :: British Helicopter Association (http://www.britishhelicopterassociation.org/charter.aspx)

web site will also provide details of suitably located BHA member who could advise further.

topendtorque
20th Nov 2010, 22:44
there's actually quite a few talanted ladies on this show as well. I have an idea for you, i'll send you a PM's
cheers tet