PDA

View Full Version : Air sickness starting to get Me Down

Frenchwalker
12th Nov 2010, 10:50
Hi everybody my first time posting so be gentle,
had my flight test today and had to stop as my face ended up in a bag from cunderdin to jandakot non stop.

i recently had gromets put into both my ears to clear up fluid behind the ear which i belived to be the root cause for the air sickness.
I had even take Travel Calm before the flight as an added precuation,
i have ben flying for two years and have not had a problem until now,
however after flying the V66 route and then circuits at Cunderdin i was not able to control the feeling any more:(

:yuk::yuk:i have done this route 3 times now and i cant make it past cunderdin:yuk::yuk:

any advice would be great

cats_five
12th Nov 2010, 16:59
Caveat: I'm not a doctor!

Firstly I suspect your ears need to settle down. You don't say how recent 'recent' is, and I don't know how long they take to do whatever they will do, so maybe you need to find out.

Beyond that, being too hot, too cold, tired, stressed (including discomfort), hungry, thirsty, overful - all these things can make motion sickness worse.

I'm not sure Travel Calm is a good idea if it's the same as the UK version (active ingredient is Hyoscine), which has a warning that it might cause drowsyness. Also, my off-shore sailing friends tell me you need to take medication the night before and regularly for it to really help control motion sickness.

A final thought is that Cunderdin is in Oz and I suspect the thermals are really starting to get going now. Flying first thing (as early as possible) in the morning might help if that is the cause or part of it. I do know Cunderdin has a gliding club!

Gliding Club of WA (http://www.glidingwa.com.au/)

AnthonyGA
12th Nov 2010, 17:35
Normally the best treatment for motion sickness is exposure to whatever causes the motion sickness—the more you are exposed to it, the more resistant you become.