PDA

View Full Version : Neville Browning

JulianHolroyd
22nd Oct 2010, 22:38
Hi, I just signed up. I'm an ex-R.A.F. engineer working at Fleetlands, Gosport.
I'm also a keen freelance writer, currently working on an article about male role models. I remember Neville Browning (a real gentleman) from my teens at Headcorn, his party trick was to fly a zlin upside down along the runway! I'd like to write up some history about Neville, and perhaps make an article for Flypast. Such people should not be forgotten!

Anyone?

Cheers

Julian

John Eacott
24th Oct 2010, 09:22
Neville was one of my instructors at Stapleford Tawney in 1965: great man to fly with :)

As our steed was the stable and unspinnable Ercoupe, so we would spend 20 minutes in a Chippie prior to solo being taught spin recovery. Neville's SOP was to do a low (< 50feet) beat up on return: inverted :eek:

He was also renowned for creating a bit of a disturbance during Farnborough, which year I can't recall. The nice man from the CAA called him a few days after the show to ask if he'd been flying at 'x' location, and whether he'd seen a formation of Sea Vixens? The conversation went along the lines of

Neville, were you flying last Saturday about 5nm west of Farnboro'

Yes

Did you happen to see some RN aircraft, in formation?

Yes, bloody things nearly ran into me, don't know what the world's coming to, no lookout, etc etc

Did you happen to read the NOTAM about Farnboro' Air Show?

No: did you send me a copy?

Please don't do it again, it rather spoilt the Sea Vixen's day, and put the programme a bit off schedule at SBAC

Classic Neville :D

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
24th Oct 2010, 09:58
Is he still around??

Tony Mabelis
24th Oct 2010, 10:08
Neville, flying his Miles Messenger with pet Greyhound sitting in the right seat, performed loops, if he did it right, (1g) then the dog stayed planted on the seat, if he did it wrong he got a filthy look from the dog floating around in mid air!