PDA

View Full Version : Prospects of starting a Heli Pilot career in Latin America???

leonid89
5th Oct 2010, 15:26
Hey, crazy heli lovers!
I am studying to become a heli pilot in Estonia, Europe. I am wondering if there is any chance for me to start my career in Latin America. It's not that this is the thing I really want to do straight after graduation, it's just one of the places i would like to visit so I was thinking why not to work there?
Brazil, Peru, Mexico??? Are heli pilots in demand there? On what level is the heli-infrastructure there? Do I need a work permit? Do I need to know spanish? What level?
I would appreciate any kind of help.
PS the thing is that I am not getting all the required stuff to fly in comand right after graduation (they dont give us IFR, only on simulator).
Thanks anyway! ! !

hueyracer
5th Oct 2010, 16:32
If you are going to work (and live, i assume) in a foreign country-donīt you think you will need to speak "their" language?

All the job offers i have read until now required the "local" language in South-American countries.....next to a minimum of 3000 flight hours-because "inexperienced" pilots are sitting in the streets there (as well as in most other countries)....

MartinCh
5th Oct 2010, 19:47
The companies have been lobbying hard enough their CAA. BUT, with what experience would you get in as co-joe from abroad, plus how good Portuguese?

I don't mind getting to grips with Portuguese as a Spanish speaker, but for others, uff.

leonid89
5th Oct 2010, 20:46
Thanks a lot everybody for your help!
OK I am thinking about continuing spanish now, I already have an A1.1 level :) lol
Maybe you can advice me where to start my career if not in my own country? Cuz in my country the only place to go is military with couple of R44, thats kinda suck, dont it??? The borderguard has AW139, but they only need one pilot+, and I will graduate 2 years from now, this place will definetely be taken.