PDA

View Full Version : STOL aircraft question.

Boslandew
2nd Oct 2010, 13:54
I am a retired helicopter pilot and am looking for some info about fixed-wing

Is there a fixed-wing aircraft in existence which could operate a VFR public transport scheduled service onto a 600 metre/1800+ft runway carrying more than twenty-five pax and bags and depart without refuelling for a short return leg, say 60 miles and then land on grass.

Thanks in advance

Boslandew

CabinMaster
2nd Oct 2010, 15:54
A Transall.
But do not expect the passengers to be happy.
Transall C-160 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transall_C-160)

The German version quotes start and landing distances:
Transall C-160 ? Wikipedia (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transall_C-160)

CabinMaster
2nd Oct 2010, 16:04
I think only military transports can do this, take the Transall for example:
Transall C-160 ? Wikipedia (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transall_C-160) (German, has take-off distance)
Transall C-160 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transall_C-160) (English)

dixi188
2nd Oct 2010, 16:07
I think the Twin Otter could do it, but 20 pax max capacity.

trex450
2nd Oct 2010, 16:13
just a guess, a Dash 7?

Genghis the Engineer
2nd Oct 2010, 16:57
The problem you've got here is that you're jsut the wrong side of the part 23/part 25 crossover.

Part 25 aeroplanes are generally airliners - big, heavy, and very expensive: there's little incentive for a manufacturer to go to the massive part 25 certification costs for something only a little bigger than the part 23 limit.

STOL aeroplanes are pretty much entirely part 23 aircraft - which are limited to 19 passenger seats (+ 1 or 2 pilots). This basically means that the big STOL aeroplanes seat a maximum of 20 total.