PDA

View Full Version : Tough Call

clinty83
15th Sep 2010, 11:39
Hi Crew

Been thinking about things lately and thought, why not jump on PPRuNe and get some feed back so here goes.

I currently do not fly for a living. I work in a bloody office doing the same sh*t day in day out and I'm bloody sick to death of it.

I've been thinking about cashing im my long service, annual leave and company shares and heading north to Darwin/NT. My concern is that I have a mortgage and a wife, whom is also very understanding of my situation.

I'm wondering if any of those that have "been there done that" have any advice for a couple of reasons

1:Should a newbie be taking this punt at this time of year considering the wet is on its way? (althogh I do have multi IFR and Beaver Amphib)

2:Do operators tend to make you wait in line or do they normally hire the best experienced/qualified for the job?

3:Should I hunt down a 206/210 and plough off some hours in them? or can i get away without it?

Like a lot of others that have been there before it scares the piss out of me what may happen if I'm unsuccessful.

Thanks in advance for opinions and advice.

Clinty83

Capt Claret
15th Sep 2010, 13:28
You've possibly got another 40 working years ahead of you. That's a long time to be doing something you don't like, whilst getting a crick in your neck looking up when ever an aeroplane goes overhead.

Can't help with advice on whether Darwin is the go, or not. I can say I was 26 when I started learning to fly(27 years ago) and 29 when I got my first full time flying job. It's a **** of an industry when security is considered. However, if I had my time over, I'd not do too much different, I'd certainly not look for a different profession.

solowflyer
15th Sep 2010, 13:37