PDA

View Full Version : driving record

bigairbus
29th Aug 2010, 04:47
hey guys, im a 2000 hr pilot with all the boxes ticked for the airlines, but i have a driving record which i lost my licence in court, just wondering if this would prevent me from getting a job? i have a passport, asic card and have been overseas since, any thoughts on this anyone? if im waisting my time in applying. thanks

Visual Landing
29th Aug 2010, 05:41
No you are not waisting your time, or even wasting your time. (Sorry couldn't help it:O) If you have all the stuff you mentioned no-one will even ask. So long as it is not a criminal record. Cheers.

mustman
29th Aug 2010, 06:04
Pretty sure this has been discussed before.

DUI = Criminal ?? :confused:

ozangel
29th Aug 2010, 06:07
If its a DUI, it's a criminal offence, if its speeding its a traffic offence.

If its criminal youll need to delcare it on the airline asic application form, (as they'll most likely re-issue it).

You shouldnt have any issues - as they seem to only be interested if you lost your licence driving the getaway car waving a shot gun out the window... :ok:

From my understanding, you can still even get a US crew visa with a finding of guilt related to DUI - it just depends on whether the recruiters realise it - and even then it'd only matter if you'll be flying US routes.

bigairbus
29th Aug 2010, 07:41
Was not a DUI, but just as bad I guess I had lost my license due to demerit points for 3 months, and I started to drive on the day I thought was right, I was pulled over for random RBT and was told that I was not able to drive until that midnight. So my own irresponsibility for not checking first cost me 12 month disqualification.

40Deg STH
29th Aug 2010, 10:48
Relax

I have done demerit points and later a 3 month rest from driving for mid range PCA (DUI) and has no effect. Mind you, that was 20years plus ago or more.
Flying for a major international airline based in Asia.
Enjoy your future.