PDA

View Full Version : Multi Crew Pilot License(MPL) thoughts.....?

d.shaw15
16th Aug 2010, 04:07
Im interested in peoples thoughts on the MPL. I understand that it allows pilots to have less overall flight experience and PIC hours.

But at the same time from the get go you are taught to fly the way you will fly as an airline pilot which in my opinion is much more uselfull and relevant than VFR and dead reckoning nav which no one uses once they hit the airlines anyway.

This may be an insult or even seem unfair for those guys and gals who had to get their 3000 hrs in the far reaches of the outback flying charter and mail runs but it is the way the industry is moving.

Im only a student and i may be blinded by the prospects of it being a faster track to the airlines but for mine it makes perfect and logical sense to conduct training in this manor, what is the point in learning to fly one way then abandoning it only to learn to fly another. Why not just begin with the later.....?

I would love to hear peoples thoughts on this....
Especially, if there are any out there, some airline hr and recruitment persons.

Sqwark2000
16th Aug 2010, 04:20
An MPL crew member will occupy the spare seat on the flightdeck. Don't expect any command opportunites without the full whack licence and experience....

Airlines will love it because of the low-cost employee product it provides.

Shortcut to nowhere.....

S2K

SgtBundy
16th Aug 2010, 04:21
In that case, what skills will you use to bring back a 300+ seat aircraft when the MFD displays go out and you are left with a compass, an altimeter, an ASI and a watch?

j3pipercub
16th Aug 2010, 04:34
It's not an insult, but you have no idea what you are talking about, seriously.

You are extroadinarily naïve and ill-informed if you think GA flying does not prepare you for airline flying, and I'm not simply talking manipulative skills.

But hey, the Jetstar Cadetship is probably for you.