PDA

View Full Version : Gliding-NPPL-JAR PPL-CPL (help!?)

Kai5555
10th Jun 2010, 15:02
Hi, I have a few questions that I can’t find any answers to elsewhere and I was hoping someone here may enlighten me.

I am a glider pilot with approximately 200hrs, I have a ½ share in a glider which I fly regularly. I currently have a good career as an Engineer working for a well known gas turbine manufacturer in the UK but I have aspirations to get my ATPL at some point and change careers, hopefully before I am 30. Dare I say it on here that my gliding is my first love and consumes a large amount of my money, leaving little to get my PPL. I am in the fortunate position that due to my gliding experience I can attain my NPPL with 10hrs in a Touring Motor Glider relatively cheaply, <£1000. I was then planning to convert this to SEP with some differences training. At this point I can act as a tug pilot at our gliding club and effectively build hours for free whilst helping my club out in a much needed role and having some fun at the same time. Occasionally gliders land-out at other gliding clubs in the UK and instead of road retrieving them with their trailer it’s preferable to retrieve them with the tug which would cover some aspects of the required XC flying experience.

The process of converting a NPPL into a JAR PPL is fairly well documented on here for people who took a conventional route, but what concerns me is that I might run into problems converting when the instructor realises that I only did 10hrs instructional in a motor glider and then <5hrs differences training in a SEP. Does anyone think there will be a problem here and what would be the outcome? Would I have to make up the hours anyway meaning that I may as well do them at the start?