PDA

View Full Version : Flying hours / years

HOGE
18th May 2010, 20:42
I'm sure this subject has been aired before, but going through my loft and finding my old log books, I note I've been flying for a little over 24 years and now have 8000 hours to show for it. The first 2 years were PPL stuff, so not much there per year, then onto 13 years with Bristow, mainly SNS, so lots of landings, and not much flying time, and then 9 years HEMS with BAS, so again, not a lot of flying hours, but lots of handling and landing.

How do other Ppruners compare for years flown vs hours in the air?

Camp Freddie
18th May 2010, 20:48
hey man, 7500 hrs in 13 years, i make that about 575 per year. first 4 years onshore, 2 years NNS, 7 years in SNS.

regards CF

SASless
18th May 2010, 22:01
Ask some of the oldtime Bristow guys about hours....in one crew room with six of us one time we came up with a total of about 75,000 hours....high timers were at the 17-18,000 hour level. The amazing thing was there was but a single accident among us and that was a mechanical failure that was clearly not pilot error. Some of those guys are over 20,000 hours now and are finally beginning to retire with accident/incident free records.

dragman
18th May 2010, 23:16
South Island operations in NZ for me are returning a whopping 30 to 35 hours a month at best during the summer, probably half that in the winter. Glad I don't own a chopper!

Kholiban
19th May 2010, 01:55
Appr. 500 hrs a year. Offshore industry

Foggy Bottom
19th May 2010, 02:21
Been flying for about 40 years and just broke 24,000 accident free hours. The last 10 years have been kind of slow only averaging about 350 hours a year. So for the first 30 years I averaged about 700 hours per year.

griffothefog
19th May 2010, 03:51
Still enjoying the ride, 28 years a professional slacker, averaging 370 hrs per year, with plenty more to come inshallah :ok:

It's all about the ride.....:cool:

SASless
19th May 2010, 04:23