PDA

View Full Version : Lear 45/ Citation Excel

Chonk Chonk
19th Apr 2010, 14:46
Couple questions. I Have been flying a Citation II for over 3 years. Customers i fly or are looking to upgrade the plane and are looking at either a Lear 45 with BR mod or a Citation Excel. I guess i am asking what peoples thoughts are on the 2 aircraft? I have got all the stats from Conklin De Decker but what about the things that arent listed? The things you would only know by flying them? Is there any truth to the statements that because i have been flying the Citation i should stick with it? Would the transition from the Citation to the Lear be quite drastic or is it nothing the line in doc couldn't take care of? As far as i am concered prolly one of the biggest adjustments would be the fms as i am used to steam gyros. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Ch.

Sepp
19th Apr 2010, 14:59
Both a/c have their fans - me, I love flying the XL. Transition to either shouldn't pose a problem; I know many other kettle-drivers who've made one or other of the jumps.

The biggest problem with moving to either is coping with the sense of rejection ... no-one asking you why wou're flying backwards, y'see! :p

galaxy flyer
19th Apr 2010, 15:39
In my experience, the conversion from steam gauges to FMS-based EFIS will be greater than to either plane. The XL has better runway perf while the LR45 has better range and speed. Figure out what works best for the Boss and enjoy it. Both are great and very popular planes.

I have about 2500 hours in the C550, too.

GF

hawk37
21st Apr 2010, 02:30