PDA

View Full Version : Airsickness

U2
13th Oct 2001, 11:36
I'm a young cpl VFR pilot and would like to go as far as possible with my career. However, I get sick from too many steep turns and unusual attitude sequences. Everyday charter flying is no problem, but to many "g"(s) and I start to get airsick. In the past heat and sinus congestion have contributed to the problem. From what I have read in books, ones tolerance to this is low during adolesences, but improves with age. My older sister used to get airsick as a child even in straight and level flight in an airlines, but as an adult she is o.k. Also tolerance is supposed to improve with exposure, but will it eventually improve?
I can take pills to prevent airsickness, but would rather work on not getting to that stage.

I would appreciate any advice from those who are in the know or who have been through it all.

U2

mintfavour
13th Oct 2001, 13:00
This was a subject in the Flyer magazine a couple of months ago. The "Flying Doctor" so to speak gave all his advise and why air sickness occurs etc, only to be bombarded by letters in the following issue saying what a load of bolloks, so in the end the finally conclusion was you are just going to have to wait until you get used to it.

I myself find that some days I can wang the aircraft al over the shot and be totally fine, and then others where I feel a bit sick, but fortunately never have been yet.

So I dont know
really after all that

Good luck

fireflybob
15th Oct 2001, 00:30
I don't know about Australia but I believe the RAF in the UK run a specific "desensitization" course for air sickess.

It might be worth checking to see whether such a course is available in Aus and whether you can get on it.

gingernut
16th Oct 2001, 00:59