PDA

View Full Version : Istanbul Sabiha Gokcen Airport

andrew1968
24th Feb 2010, 13:13
Don't know if this is the right place to post this but,

I am flying to Istanbul with easjet in august from LGW and then transferring to Pegasus Airlines for a domestic flight to Izmir.

Never flown into Istanbul Sabiha airport before, so my questions are regarding Transit from International Flight to Domestic

Q. I am flying with both hand/hold luggage will I have to collect luggage in baggage reclaim, out through arrivals and then go to departures for my internal flight.

Q. Is there a transit facilty at the airport, and can someone explain how it works. I have never used a transit facility before always flown point to point.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Capot
24th Feb 2010, 16:16
It's a pretty easy walk from one to t'other.

champair79
24th Feb 2010, 19:35
Hi Andrew,

I've flown almost exactly the same route over the Xmas period except I flew to Luton with Easyjet rather than LGW.

With regards to transferring, just go to baggage reclaim, collect your luggage, then follow the signs to departures and check in with the domestic airline (I assume Pegasus). Since you are transiting with 2 different airlines, you have to collect and re-check in. It's no hassle though as the whole process is under cover.

Finally, Sabiha Gokcen is one of the nicest airports I've been to. It's all brand new and not too busy. Certainly, compared to Ataturk, there is no comparison.

Have a safe trip. Any problems, PM me.

Regards, Champ

P.S I'm living in Izmir

andrew1968
24th Feb 2010, 22:13
Champ,

Thanks for the info, most helpful. Should be an interesting trip, 4 adults and 4 kids flying down to Izmir and then a drive further south towards Altinkum.

Looked at flying direct to Bodrum, flights about £450 dearer and arrival into Bodrum around 2200, not good with kids.

Thanks, again.

Andrew

champair79
25th Feb 2010, 08:59