View Full Version : Viewing old Outlook Express files

Tosh McCaber
11th Feb 2010, 06:56
In my archives, saved over to my new(ish) computer from a very old one, I have a set of .dfx Outlook Express files, which I would like to review. I've been using Outlook for many years now. What's the easiest way to get these .dfx files up and running again?

Tarq57
11th Feb 2010, 07:40
".dfx" or ".dbx" files?
.dfx seem to belong to a graphics software (2D/3D images) called Drafix, purchased by Autodesk. (http://usa.autodesk.com/) Do you have such a program installed?
.dbx files open using Outlook Express, there should be such a program in your new-ish computer, you may need to install it (if not active) using the Add/remove Windows components feature in the control panel. You may be then able to migrate them to MS Outlook. I don't use Outlook (nor OE, much) so I don't know the procedure, sorry.

BOAC
11th Feb 2010, 07:58
I'd go with that - could have been one of three graphics programmes Google tells me but NOT Outlook Express. If they are 'dbx' files, importing into your Outlook prog is a doddle:ok:.

If they ARE 'dfx' files, what is the name of the folder they are in? Could be some clever person 'rebranded' them to protect them?:)

Tosh McCaber
11th Feb 2010, 08:08
Hmm they are definitely described in Application Data as Outlook Express- they're definitely my own old OE files, and, on looking at a web definition:

".dbx- Outlook Express E-mail Folder- File created by Outlook Express, a Microsoft email program; contains email messages for a specific mailbox; typically saved within the "Documents and Settings" user directory; may be copied to another folder in order to backup e-mail messages.