PDA

View Full Version : Can a pilot with 200 hours get any work?

Apollo2010
13th Jan 2010, 21:34
Hi all.
I'm a graduate working in London and i'm looking at (err well i'm dead set on!) coming back to Australia (dual Aussie and British citizen), training and working as pilot. Been working the last 3 years in london after completing a physics degree, saved some and soon redundant so now will have the time and a lot of the money to do an integrated course, and complete both irc and atpl, and do what i've dreamed about since i was a little kid.
My main concern is whether there is any work that a pilot with 200 hours can get, and begin to build on? I've just started skydiving, hopefully that will help in beginning to meet other pilots. will i be able to support myself just by flying? what is the situation like out there? i know i'll probably have to find an outside job, i'm sure there'll be far too many guys like me out there!

Many Thanks,

A

---
if i can't get rich enough to do all the things i want, i may as well be poor enough to get paid to do them!

AerocatS2A
14th Jan 2010, 11:47
I did. I had a job before the ink had dried on my CPL. So yes it can happen, but I wouldn't plan on it.

Goat Whisperer
14th Jan 2010, 11:54
We all had 200 hours at one stage...

mattgitau
14th Jan 2010, 15:17
My advice, for whats its worth, would be to do a JAR Licence (I think you can do it in Aus these days) and then convert that to an Aussie Licence.

Advantages are that it is much easier to convert it that way than from Aussie to JAR. It also gives you a lot more options, in terms of Job opportunities here and in Aus.

Even in the present climate you are more likely to secure a jet job (either airline or business jet) here in the UK sooner rather than later, than you would back in Australia - of course that may not be your goal, but if it is, it will probably take you 5 years to achieve that in Australia.