PDA

View Full Version : Memories of Lincolnshire

newfieboy
13th Jan 2010, 00:19
As a 20+ year experienced rotary wing pilot and expat currently working in Canada, I often wonder how I came about flying for a living. It was never a childhood dream or anything, just happened one day. I grew up in the 60;s/70;s in Louth, Lincolnshire, which all you fighter Mates will know I;m sure. I was wondering the other day whether the flying thing was subconciously etched in my mind as a kid laying in bed at night listening to all the comings and goings from the likes of Manby, Binbrook, Strubby, Conningsby etc.

So I was wondering if any of you Frightning, Provest, Canberra Vulcan etc Mates of the day have any good yarns while on a jolly around the local towns, hostelries , and of any memeories you may have good or bad about the area and how it was in the 60;s and 70;s as a front line pilot per say. Thanks for your time, I;m sure there are plenty of good tales out there.:ok:

alisoncc
13th Jan 2010, 01:25
I was wondering the other day whether the flying thing was subconciously etched in my mind as a kid laying in bed at night listening to all the comings and goings from the likes of Manby, Binbrook, Strubby, Conningsby etc.

I think you get Avgas in your blood. As a kid I had friends who knew every variation of railway steam engines there was. Later, acquaintances who knew all there was to know about cars, and even later boats, but I've had a love affair with aeroplanes since my first visit to Hucknall in the mid '50's. Was at Syerston when one of the earliest Vulcans fell apart in the air. Flew in a Chipmunk at RAF Chivenor in '57, and didn't throw up even though the pilot did everything possible to make it so.