PDA

View Full Version : Flying Low NZ Flight Test

yellowlines
13th Dec 2009, 04:53
Having a debate at the aeroclub over this one.
Who has gone below 500ft in a NZ Flight Test when carrying out the Forced Landing Without Power demo?
(as is legally allowed for a FLWOP as an Instructor, other conditions granted).
If so, did you do call it, or did the examiner call it?

Artificial Horizon
13th Dec 2009, 05:37
Yep, I went so low on the CPL flight test that I had actually decided in my own mind that we were going to actually land in this field. The examiner said he would tell me when to go around. We must have been down to around 50-75 ft when he said 'go-around'. When I was an instructor I found a little field in the south of England that was actually used as a private strip. I had permission of the owner and would actually get my students to land much to thier shock and horror. Good lesson for them though.

AutopilotEngage
13th Dec 2009, 06:16
Generally the examiner will tell you before the flight who's calling the 'go-around', and they will usually get you to go below 500' agl

framer
13th Dec 2009, 06:54
Think we probably got down to about 5ft agl. It was in a low flying area.

topdrop
13th Dec 2009, 11:53
My instructor was an ag pilot - believe he went back to it after training me :ouch::uhoh::mad:
On a practice forced landing in a PA28 - I didn't have any flap out as I had misjudged the approach and I also missed the powerlines about 50 metres before the fenceline I was trying to clear. I admitted my f...kup and was about to go round when the Instructor took over - we went under the powerlines and then he pulled on the flaps and we ballooned over the fence for what would have been a great forced landing, powered up and off for another attempt. It certainly showed me that the same old routine can be altered to achieve the desired result.

amishtechie
13th Dec 2009, 12:09