PDA

View Full Version : Autopilot correction times...

Andy Rylance
12th Dec 2009, 17:21
On autopilots on current commercial aircraft what is the time delay between the autopilot noting an adjustment is necessary to be made to either a heading/speed/level change and the control surfaces making that adjustment? Also what is the tolerance on speed/altitude/heading (i.e. percentage difference than that required) before the change kicks in immediately.

I mean is it something like:

Change noticed from current setting required.
Wait (how long? is it based on percentage of adjustment needed - further out from required amount the quicker the autopilot makes the adjustment)
Move control surfaces to adjust back to altitude/speed required.

I ask this because in turbulence if the "wait" is too short then it potentially makes for a more uncomfortable ride if the aircraft is forever chasing as close to the speed/level/heading as required. I am no expert so just interested in how the autopilot works out what to do and how quickly.

Hope that makes sense...

Andy

TopBunk
12th Dec 2009, 17:49
AR

Without ggiving a definitive answer, it wil likely depend on the phase of flight and the mode of the autopliot/flight director.

On an ILS the response will be much quicker (in general) than tracking a radial.

It probably depends on the phase of flight and the Required Nav Accuracy. In the terminal area with a Required accuracy of <1nm the response wil likely be quicker than when in an area where it is 5nm!

Cardinal
12th Dec 2009, 18:47