PDA

View Full Version : Light Aircraft tours around Australia

captwawa
8th Dec 2009, 10:40
Hi all,

I recall there were tours of C172's that would go around this great country of ours usually in a huge group and usually hogging all the frequencies with poor radio work. However I go on a tangent.

Could anyone let me know if they are still running and any websites available.

Google comes up with a few but none that I can see that cover say ones that go - Uluru, Bungles, etc all the touristy places in this fair brown land.

Thanks for any help

sms777
8th Dec 2009, 11:53
Yeah...I hear you dude!
I still remember of the mid 80's to 90's when flying schools like Schoefields use to run get aways pretty much all around oz to frustrate everyone in the air and on the ground. It was all fun though. Then there was this guy called Bernie Saroff from Maitland NSW who would just about take you around the world if you were prepard to pay for it. I was a charter pilot back then and i hated those guys. Do you know what? I miss it all!
So.... if you get stuck and want some company to fly around this great country of ours PM me and if time suits me i come along to guide you.
Cheers.

PyroTek
8th Dec 2009, 12:37
Goana Tours ring any bells? Don't think it exists anymore, but I've flown a C175 with the Goana Tours decals all over it! (still owned by the guy (great guy also, keeps his aircraft in great shape) who owns/owned Goana)

Pyro

eocvictim
8th Dec 2009, 13:20
The social schools/aero clubs with members who still hold medicals still do these. Some quarterly but most anually. Just need to ring around but all the usual names I'd imagine.

Charlie Foxtrot India
8th Dec 2009, 14:20
ASIC requirements which make it very difficult to do the ID checks from overseas and the delays in getting Certificates of Validation (months rather than hours) since this function moved to Canberra have made these sorts of tours difficult to organise.

daviojk
8th Dec 2009, 20:11