PDA

View Full Version : Max Kenworthy

soggyboxers
27th Nov 2009, 19:42
Many of you may have heard the sad news already, but I only found out today and it is with great sadness that I heard of the untimely death of Max Kenworthy, a man who I was proud to call my friend and privileged to have had as a true friend, boss, mentor and counsellor over more than 40 years.

Max had been ill for some time and finally died peacefully in hospital in Plymouth last Wednesday. He will be sorely missed by his family, his friends and all who knew him. I extend my sincerest condolences to all his family, particularly wife, Sandra and daughter and son, Michaela and Nick.

I first met Max when I was a young newly-qualified pilot on 845 Squadron. He was a great mentor to many of we brash, wet-behind-the-ears young guys who knew it all, especially the 2 ‘mini-Boots’. His ‘Earth Mother’ was a mother hen to our young wives and girlfriends, as well as their own children and foster children.

Max had a distinguished career as a Royal Navy pilot, qualified as a test pilot with ETPS and was CO of the Navy historic aircraft flight at RNAS Yeovilton, flying the old Swordfish torpedo bomber at numerous air shows. After leaving the Navy, he joined Bristow Helicopters and amongst other projects, brought the ‘Tiger’ simulator into service and was involved with the SAR S61. From Bristow he moved on to fly an ENG Twin Squirrel with Cabair, based in Redhill. He then became first the test pilot and then the Chief Pilot for McAlpine Helicopters, where he proved again to be a great friend and mentor. His final period of employment was as the Police Aviation advisor to the Home Office, from which he retired aged 64.

He was always willing to listen, gave sound advice and helped many.

Rest in Peace old friend. You will live on in our memories.

heliski22
27th Nov 2009, 23:31
Sorry to hear that news.