PDA

View Full Version : New Lappy??

621andy
23rd Oct 2009, 08:53
I'm off to the 3rd world again next week and need a new laptop...now the question is, do I buy one with XP or the new 7:rolleyes:

I've heard good reports about W7 but it's still early days...Every day I spend with Vista is a day spoilt:ugh: So the decision is whether to go back to XP or bite the bullet and go for the new stuff.

I heard W7 described on German TV yesterday as 'Vista without the childhood ilnesses' so there is hope, but is it enough to take the risk?

Heeeelllp!

Sprogget
23rd Oct 2009, 08:54
You want next door Andy & seven is good provided your lappy is up to it.

Buster Hyman
23rd Oct 2009, 08:57
How much W7 support do you reckon you'll get in the 3rd world?

M.Mouse
23rd Oct 2009, 09:11
W7 is Vista underneath the interface but, unlike Vista, actually works as it should. I have been using the Release Candidate (the beta W7) for many months and it is solid, fast and reliable. I do even know of a large company of scientists in the USA who are running their entire office on the RC version!

The reasons it works so well can be explained but would take some time to do so. It is a disgrace that MS released Vista at all. Apart from Windows ME, Vista has to be the worst offering from MS ever.

I would have no hesitation in buying a laptop with it included and have even bought 3 copies via the pre-ordering scheme (excellent value at the beginning) to load on to my PCs.

RJM
23rd Oct 2009, 09:12
Forget the PC. Buy a Mac and install an emulator. You'll have the stability of the Unix-based MacOS X, no PC viruses, superb design and more.

I don't sell Macs, but I've used both and I'm convinced that only a rusted on PC fan would stick with PC's.

(Puts on Ned Kelly-style armour)

Whirlygig
23rd Oct 2009, 09:14
Personally, I'd stick with XP - better the devil 'n' all that ...