PDA

View Full Version : "Lifetime" PPL question

Private jet
3rd Oct 2009, 22:30
Hi, thought i'd put this query on this forum as somebody is bound to know the answer here. My first ever license (issued 1990) was one of the old CAA PPL's. Subsequently i went on to get pro licenses (FAA & JAA) but as i understand it the old PPL's don't have an expiration date like the later JAA ones, is this still correct? Obviously i've not used it for years but if/when i quit the flying for a living lark i might want to re-activate it one day. I've done a search on here and also attempted to understand LASORS, but its like trying to catch a cup of water from a waterfall! If it is still valid i wonder how long it will be before the EASA regime decide it is another potential revenue stream/job creation programme to put a 5 year life on it!
Kind regards.

Private jet
3rd Oct 2009, 23:14
Thanks for that info. I guess that if they did change the rules i could always just keep my FAA qualifications current (maybe just drop the IR) and i understand thats good for day, but strangely enough not at night, on G reg aircraft?

rotorfossil
4th Oct 2009, 09:20
The latest word I had from a CAA briefing a while ago (but watch this space as always) was that all National Licences would cease in 2012 and advice was to exchange the CAA UK PPL for a JAR PPL before then, because the change to an EASA Licence would be a relatively painless paper exercise but maybe not so easy from a national one.

homeguard
4th Oct 2009, 11:55
It is what it is - a lifetime PPL. You need do nothing. Do not confuse a Licence with a rating.