PDA

View Full Version : Other airline options to Orlando than BA

profot
24th Aug 2009, 06:19
Guys and girls

I recently decided not to fly with BA anymore which after so many years has left me quite exposed in not knowing how to get about despite doing it daily for my work for the last 15 years.

I am taking my family of 6 to the dreaded Disney world next month in Orlando for 10 days, are there any other options than Virgin? American only connect via their main hubs and with the little ones I'd like a direct flight.

Cheers

phineas
24th Aug 2009, 07:03
A quick trip to OAG gives you 5 flights direct today, I think I'm new to OAG.

These inlcude US, Continental and Delta.

Just registered for OAG, did you know there are as many as 50 flights London->LAX tomorrow.

I am in no way connected to OAG.

renfrew
24th Aug 2009, 07:50
But remember there is a difference between direct flights and non-stop flights!

phineas
24th Aug 2009, 07:57
Many thanks I've lived and learnt.

gsky
24th Aug 2009, 07:58
Ex UK
apart from BA/VS
Direct..
I believe many charter ops
e.g. Monarch , Thomson, Thos Cook etc etc

All the US carriers either code share eg CO/VS on VS or
go via one of their hubs
eg. US, AA, DL, CO etc
and this usually means a plane change somewhere in US en route

I dont think their are any US carriers operating flight direct from UK to MCO
( unless anybody knows different!)

Of course there are European carriers who go direct .KLM for example.. but then you would have to go via AMS .

BA and VS seem to be able to keep their MCO fares at a very high level as they dont have much (direct) competition on the UK-MCO route

WHBM
24th Aug 2009, 08:40