PDA

View Full Version : Headset Mic's For Helicopters

pjackson29
7th Aug 2009, 15:22
Just throwing this out there, as I have read pretty much all the posts and it still does not answer the question.

Flying helicopters, I have been told Dynamic is better, yet all new DC units come with the electret mic.

I have used a set in an R22 and they worked with the Peltors (electret and dynamic versions) fine.

Did have a comment from London information while using H10-13.4's (electret), saying he could here me fine, but there was a lot of background noise and whistling??? Is this the Electret being too sensative, though arnt they noise cancelling.

From my end its great, I can here my passenger and the NNR is much improved as is the comfort, but not sure how it sounds the other end.

So there you go, any thoughts on this? Some say dynamic some say other. But why is DC going M-7A all the way at present

Thanks for looking

Devil 49
7th Aug 2009, 16:16
I'm just a pilot, but I think that electret are 'dynamic' in definition, but not usage. When I see 'dynamic', it's usually to differentiate a newer design from the older, non-dynamic carbon mic. I have the same headset you're using, and a couple of suggestions: Get the little black foam thingy (breeze shield?) for your mic; and keep the mic centered and against your upper lip, these cut down on extraneous noise.
Other than that, you will find differences aircraft to aircraft in transmission quality.

TukTuk BoomBoom
7th Aug 2009, 23:41
Yeah good tip about the mic socks, always a good idea for helicopters.
Also you can adjust the "gain" on the mics, we do it with all brand new David Clarks, its a small flat-blade type screw in the mic itself. Wind it all the way out (as in anti-clockwise, righty tighty lefty loosy) and it cuts down on the background noise you hear with the voice.
Again, very important for helicopter headsets due to the high ambient background noise.