PDA

View Full Version : Army to RAF

sabre1001
1st Aug 2009, 18:24
I am currently a Royal Signals soldier serving in the Army wishing to to transfer to the RAF to become a pilot. I have my PPL and 100 hrs of flying. I am 25 now and i wanted to know if i am too old to tranfer to become a Pilot?

Any help would be appreciated

airborne_artist
1st Aug 2009, 21:40
You need to ask at the AFCO, I suspect. It's been said on the OASC thread that the limit is 26 for those already serving, but not sure if that applies to people from RN/Army.

The RN has an upper limit of 26 (actually 25 and 11 months) for officer aircrew for civilian applicants - it may be higher for those currently serving.

fabs
2nd Aug 2009, 08:22
Agree with AA. Get yourself into an AFCO as soon as you can. I'm sure there is at least 1 ex Marine and an ex Para (both from the ranks) going through flying training at the moment.

Thud_and_Blunder
2nd Aug 2009, 10:06
Having once been in a very similar boat (L/Cpl on 9 Sigs, pre-Green-Slime days), I wish you all the very best. I had 26 mostly-fantastic years with the Royal Air Force after that, rarely regretted the move! Get yourself down to the AFCO pronto.

Bertie Thruster
2nd Aug 2009, 10:44
Age 22; L/Cpl on 11 Sigs. Army pilots course when 28 and into RAF aged 32.

No regrets. But did get a bollicking once, from Thud and Blunder.

Sloppy Link
2nd Aug 2009, 15:44
If the RAF door is closed due to your age, the AAC one will still be open, 32 I think.

smugley
3rd Aug 2009, 14:18
Sabre1001 - I would get in touch with OASC directly, the AFCO doesn't always give you the best info regarding 'those already in', I am aware of serving personnel who have been accepted for IOT and pilot training (very recently) and been older than you.