PDA

View Full Version : Flying in Europe with a FAA license

DerHausi
27th Jul 2009, 13:55
Hello, I am relatively new to JAA topics and would like to fly in Europe with my FAA license (live in Germany now). Is this at all possible ? Anyone any experience with flying in Germany and the UK ? I have spend quite some time in the US and fly there regularly but finding information on Europe has so far been proven quite difficult.

Phil77
27th Jul 2009, 14:42
Private flying yes, commercial no (except private carriage on N-registered aircraft - no charter).

Paperwork from the Luftfahrtbundesamt:
LBA Anerkennung von Erlaubnissen und Berechtigungen (http://www.lba.de/nn_61554/DE/Luftfahrtpersonal/Anerkennung/Anerkennung__node.html__nnn=true)

plus you need a radio station license. It probably makes sense to take an instructor up once or twice and read up on the regs (airspace is quite different for example).

GoodGrief
27th Jul 2009, 16:48
As per landings.com he has a PPL only. No commercial flying.

Sascha, download FCL-2, those are the rules we live by.

LBA Rechtsgrundlagen (http://www.lba.de/cln_010/nn_54066/SharedDocs/download/L/L1/L1__JAR-FCL2.html)

Runway101
27th Jul 2009, 19:29
For private flying, you can take any N-registered aircraft below 12500 lb and fly away if I am not wrong.

I believe if you want to fly D registered aircraft, you will need a validated license first. At least that's the way if you want to fly OE registered helicopters, then you need to get your license validated with Austrocontrol for a few Euros. I am not sure if you also need a type rating in addition to your validation...

What type(s) were you flying in the USA?

IRISHPILOT
27th Jul 2009, 19:34
to use any FAA licence outside US airspace, you need the US RT licence. cheap and no test, but you need it.

do a search on here on how to get it.

DerHausi
27th Jul 2009, 20:30
Thanks for all the quick feedback. Will do some more reading. As for the various questions: