PDA

View Full Version : Which license should I train for?

TheFlyingGuitarist
25th Jul 2009, 17:57
Dear all in the PPRune forums

I have always wanted to fly and would love it to be my 'bread and butter' one day (or at least i think i will be), so I have started researching into the different types of license that are possible to get. After a while of researching, I have to admit, im pretty confused to know what to start saving for.
But either way, I have come to the conclusion that I need my PPL first! at least this way its a good grounding and i'll know for certain after a few lessons if I definetely want to fly for a living.
So my questions are:
1) do I save for a JAA PPL, or a FAA PPL?

2) I know it will be a LOT cheaper to go to the states and do an FAA so can I convert an FAA to a JAA, and how much for?

3) Where can I fly with an FAA as opposed to with a JAA

4) If I get an FAA PPL and then Convert to a JAA PPL, would I have two licenses? (therefore less limitations on what I can and can't do)

Hopefully I haven't come across too stupid and any help would be fantastic.

MAny thanks

AlphaMale
25th Jul 2009, 22:32
You can find your answers here (http://www.pprune.org/professional-pilot-training-includes-ground-studies/131649-archive-reference-threads-posting-guidelines-read-before-you-post-question.html).

After a while of researching

I assume not in the link above :E

But either way, I have come to the conclusion that I need my PPL first!

Not really.

1) do I save for a JAA PPL, or a FAA PPL?

Matter of opinion.

2) I know it will be a LOT cheaper to go to the states and do an FAA so can I convert an FAA to a JAA, and how much for?

I was going to go the FAA route when you could get $2 to the £1 but now that is not the case, spreading the cost, not having to take 4/5/6 weeks off work, flights to Florida, hotel bills etc makes it just as cheap to gain the PPL in the UK in the airspace I will do the IR/CPL in.