PDA

View Full Version : Australian PPL and CPL options...

RyanSydney
15th Jul 2009, 08:11
Hey there,
i am wondering if anyone can help me,
im 23 years old and wanting a career as a commercial pilot, i have done some flying and want to persue it as a career, BUT, i have two worries, cost and age.

first, am i too old to start my training now to have a chance of getting a job in the airlines?

and second, what do u think is the best path?

is it the 80K track through a flight school, complete with intrument ratings, instructor ratings, dual endorsment etc?

or maybe casually flying on the weekend and home study at a leisurely pace?

or as someone told me last week,
TAFE full time study for PPL CPL and even ATPL then once completed, pump out the flying hours?

im thinking of starting tafe next yr (jan) for 6 months full time then spending maybe 20-30K in gaining ppl/cpl/single engine and trying to get in the workforce in northan australia?

sorry for the lengthy post but im really stressed i may have left this career change too late and that maybe my 20-25K will realisticly not be enough?

any help much appreciated

Thank you

Ryan Sydney

tmpffisch
15th Jul 2009, 08:38
RyanSydney, 20-25k is definatly not nearly enough. In reality, not even half!

You will however got a PPL for that and maybe 30 additional hours solo.

Probably worth checking the other million or so threads asking the same thing.

Oh, and you're not too old either. 23 is a good age to start.

RyanSydney
15th Jul 2009, 09:03
thanks for ur reply.

what do you think the bare essentials would be to get a start flying as a job? anything? crop dusting? scenic? hearding? the bottom on the rock pool?

money and endorsement wise?

thanks again!

tmpffisch
15th Jul 2009, 09:43
Bare essentials? CPL. However a multi endorsement and NVFR are preferable (and are my info is based on)

At current prices here in Melbourne:

For a PPL, expect around $16,000.