PDA

View Full Version : Pilot's license

TeddyRuxpin
23rd Jun 2009, 18:13
Chaps, I'd appreciate any advice you can pass on with regard to me getting my PPL.

I have absolutely no flying experience, I am 28 years old, now based in Leeds (half an hour from LBA), and I am a teacher so wouldn't have an enormous amount of spare time. However, what spare time I do have I'd like to devote to working toward a PPL.

A collegue at work's brother flies privately from Church Fenton, and I am also lucky enough to have a pal flying commercially (ex-XL) but now in Nigeria. Hence not got a hotline to him right now!!

Anyway, I was wondering what sort of cost, time, effort, head-in-book time I'm looking at to achieve it a reasonable time (and I'm also relying on you guys to let me know what amounts to "reasonable" in terms of a time frame!)

Google etc is all well and good for getting black and white information, but if anyone has "real life" advice to offer then I would be EXTREMELY appreciative of your thoughts.

Thanks one and all :ok:

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
23rd Jun 2009, 19:40
Why not bell, or visit, your nearest flying club where you'll get all you need to know from the horse's mouth.

Cost wise... I don't know precisely but likely to be an arm and two legs in the UK. When my son tried it cost him around £6k, 10 years ago, and he never finished it due to problems with the flying club.

There's a goodly amount of studying of various subjects including meteorology, navigation, air law, etc.

Good luck...

pploony
24th Jun 2009, 12:09