PDA

View Full Version : Going for my ppl

may_day
22nd Jun 2009, 06:01
As an RAA pilot I am doing my PPL, my instructor says I cannot do my PPL in an RAA registered aircraft. In the regulations (as far as I can see), it states
The 40 hours must be recognised flight time that was flown in a
registered aeroplane, recognised aeroplane, helicopter, gyroplane,
glider, power-assisted sailplane or group A ultralight.
Can anyone show me in the regulations why I can't do my PPL training in an RAA registered aircraft that can be registered VH if I wish to, to do PPL training and my PPL flight test? It also stats when i am going for my flight test

A private pilot (aeroplane) licence flight test must be conducted only
by an approved testing officer or a CASA flying operations inspector,
in an aeroplane:
(a) for which the person attempting the test holds an aircraft
endorsement; and
(b) that is fitted with:
(i) fully functioning dual controls; and
(ii) an electronic system for communication between the person
conducting the test and the person attempting the test that is
serviceable when the test begins; and
(iii) dual control brakes

Otherthan what it states above, it does not state whether the aircraft should be VH or RAA registered.

I am just trying to further my educational experience in flying and am trying to save some coin at the same time, I can hire a J230 for about $110 an hour compared to a Cessna 172 for about $200 plus an hour.

Regards

Mayday

bentleg
22nd Jun 2009, 06:19
my instructor says I cannot do my PPL in an RAA registered aircraft

I think the issue here is that CASA does not consider a RAA registered aircraft as meeting CASA registration requirements. Whether it is capable of CASA (VH) registration is another issue. Most of the CASA licensing forms have "VH- " preprinted in the registration panel, where the ATO signs off, indicating their attitude.

If you want to fight CASA over their interpretation of the regulations, I wish you luck.....

may_day